Tiga Beradik Bukit Pelindung, Kuantan

Last August, while on a beach holiday in Kuantan I did not expect to find hiking trails accessible directly from the beach at Teluk Cempedak, along the boardwalk to Teluk Tongkang.

I later learnt that Bukit Pelindung forest reserve is a popular recreational ground for city folks, offering a small network of trails through the 10-hectare rainforest with a view of the city near the peak.

Overjoyed and more suitably attired the next day, I headed into the forest from one of the many step trails branching off the boardwalk.

The concrete steps soon gave way to a jungle trail, eventually merging into the clearly marked, main trail.

I totally enjoyed the peace & quiet as I climbed steadily on natural & rustic forest paths for the next half hour, amazed by the thriving fungi and wildlife. Rest-stops with bench and table are provided at regular intervals, while the presence of ramps meant the trail was shared by mountain bikers. Luckily for me, none were around that day.

Rounding some boulders, the trail started its descent and I finally met hikers on the way up and learnt that there was a waterfall and a not-too-distant peak to summit, if I was up to it.

Instantly hooked, I continued my exploration, asking directions when I got to the junction.  There, a kindly local not only gave me directions, but shared my intentions to other hikers, appealing to them to be my guide. 

And that’s how I gained 5 companions on my quest to the waterfall. The ladies traded an easy walk to Teluk Cempedak for the more taxing Tiga Beradik. Off we went, keeping right at the fork, reaching the waterfall after fifteen minutes of mostly downhill.

To get to Tiga Beradik, we followed the winding river downhill, then rock hopped to the other side, and began the ascent. The 40 degree incline and 15 minutes of heart pumping action got me to ‘adik#1’, the first of 2 false peaks. Barely 5 minutes of level ground, another slope had us skirting past boulders to reach the second false peak 20 minutes later. 

The terrain turns rocky, inching upwards to a narrow path carved between 2 huge boulders. A final uphill assault brought us to the telecommunication tower.

From the 260m peak, a short 15-minute walk on tarmac road took us to the start of jungle trails to Teluk Cempedak. Here, I bade the ladies farewell, who will continue on the tarred road towards the Forestry Office Quarters and their car. 

Back on the 1.8km forest trail to Teluk Cempedak, I was first confronted by a long stretch of steps to a hut at the top. The undulating path eventually retraced my steps to the junction, I stayed on the straight and made it back to the beach in half an hour.  

A fitting end to a lovely adventure.

Getting there
Hutan Lipur Bukit Pelindung via Teluk Cempedak

From Teluk Cempedak beach, head north along the boardwalk towards Teluk Tongkang. Midway, any of the step trails on the left will eventually merge onto the main trail to Bukit Pelindung.

It is a easy to moderate 7 km hike averaging 3 hours via the waterfall / jungle route to the telecommunication tower, returning by the tarmac road before punching into the jungle trails again back to Teluk Cempedak.

Leave a comment